Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Arbuthnot Date: Oct 9, 2007 7:38pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks ... w/LMA Reviews

so, i was giving this show a listen recently, and dare i say it, one of the best of the year; the Bertha, a song i like, but never really exclaim over, is an excellent version, i was impressed, the Roses, Minglewood, Promised Land & Deal are all worthy listens as well; but it's the 2nd set here that blisters and blows you away; in fact, i'm going to listen to it right now, once again; i would post a link, but alas this show is no longer on the LMA, however, here is the setlist, the link to my upload of this show at etree, followed by the reviews that once appended the show here at LMA

Band/Artist: Grateful Dead
Venue: Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Date: 1978-07-08

Source: SBD > DAT > CDR

DISK 1

---- Set I ----

01.Bertha > [06:51]
02.Good Lovin' [07:10]
03.Dire Wolf [04:29]
04.El Paso [04:31]
05.It Must Have Been The Roses [07:32]
06.New Minglewood Blues [06:56]
07.Ramble On Rose [09:18]
08.The Promised Land [04:49]
09.Deal [06:29]

Total Time: [58:05]

DISK 2

---- Set II ----

10.Samson And Delilah [07:22]
11.Ship Of Fools [09:05]
12.Estimated Prophet > [12:42]
13.The Other One > [08:52]
14.Eyes Of The World > [10:41]
15.Drums > Space > [15:52]

Total Time: [64:34]

DISK 3

16.Wharf Rat > [08:50]
17.Franklin's Tower > [10:50]
18.Sugar Magnolia [09:24]

---- Encore ----

19.Terrapin Station > [10:47]
20.One More Saturday Night [05:15]
21.Werewolves Of London [07:22]

Total Time: [52:28]

Notes: No known flaws.

Link to torrent: http://bt.etree.org/details.php?id=510130

====================================

Reviews From: http://www.archive.org

February 17, 2006
Reviewer: birdsgosouth
Subject: (..........)

If this is not a five star show and sound, I really have no f***ing idea what one is. I totally and unconditionally disagree that the first "part" of this show is weak. The Ship of Fools is great. The vocals are upfront, just like any other SBD from 1972 on. I think it's pretty evident that the Dead were psyched to be doing their first shows at red rocks.

February 16, 2006
Reviewer: L. Rosley
Subject: Terrapin encore

I agree with the last review that a 4 is a high rating. The first part is weaker, worth a 3, mainly because of the vocals (Ship of Fools may be the low point). But the second set is 5-star material, and the audience must have been thrilled with the encore.

February 05, 2006
Reviewer: PDXpeet
Subject: re: A Dude

wow man, sounds like your comments are stuck with issues that have everything to do with social issues "30 years ago" and nothing to do with just listening to the music play. these two shows are some of the most inspired playing I've heard in '78, and for that, it gets a high rating from me.

January 15, 2006
Reviewer: jpos
Subject: show review

If I were a dude reviewing this show, and I was on CRACK, I might not have such a good review. However, since that is not the case, I must say that this show is on fire, as red hot as the rocks the boys are playin in.

November 03, 2005
Reviewer: matrixport
Subject: OUTSTANDING!!!

This show ranks #12 in Deadbase's tape ranking, and with very good reason (I'd give it extra stars for this review if I could). Recording quality is terrific, the set list is phenomenal, and Jerry is ON in a big way for both vocals and lead. EVERY TUNE shines with extra effort on his part. And the band is having as much fun as the audience. I can't imagine that you won't find yourself smiling and laughing along as you listen... ENJOY!!! Btw, an extra note regarding the night before (7/7/78): just finished giving it a thorough listening, and IT IS JUST AS KILLER a show for the same aforementioned reasons!! IMHO, the two shows combine for one of the best runs I've ever heard (and the other reviews seem to be in full agreement). Quite a few people may have been put off by the "splitter technique" note in the recording notes or by a relatively simplistic set list; DO NOT MISS OUT ON DOWNLOADING BOTH OF THESE SHOWS! Just wait until you hear the first night if you haven't already... TURN UP THE VOLUME FOR FULL EFFECT!

**(Responding to the very negative review from "A Dude": yes, every fan has their favorite years and their own subjective standards for what comprises a 5-star Dead show and is more than welcome to voice their opinion. But anyone considering AGAINST downloading this show would be well advised to make an informed decision and peruse ALL of the previous reviews for this show!)**

November 02, 2005
Reviewer: A Dude
Subject: Worst show I've heard in over 30 years of GD

I listened to this show all the way through. Wow, it's amazing how much difference there is in people's perception of music I should have been a little suspicious, given the many comments in Archive reviews of other shows about the "great vocals", and about all the wonderful Set One songs, and the weirdest one of all "a great setlist". I remember 30 years ago, that everyone was waiting for Garcia to forget a line or two of lyrics, because that ensured a great show! Set One was a time for the band to warm up, and for the audience to spread their blankets, distribute the goodies, go to the WC, etc. Songs were there simply as a starting point, "Mary Had A Little Lamb" could have the most amazing improvisational jamming, while "Dark Star" could be a perfunctory bridge to some other song. It sounds like some people were looking for the Rolling Stones or something - hearing those studio songs in a live setting ?? Now, on to this show. Back 30 years ago, Deadheads looked at the tour announcements and stayed away from any show on Saturday night. It was well known that automatically meant a "date night concert", and the Dead would play all the standards in a boring way that would please Average Joe who had heard Truckin on the radio and wanted a concert to go to with his date. After I listened through the hours of uninspired perfunctory performances of this show, I made a mental note to do a web search for "1978 Calendar" and sure enough, this show was Saturday Night. The one description of this show I can give that describes it best is that it sounds like a Dead Cover Band. This is clearest when they start singing "St Stephen" and it comes out like "St Stephen - hey remember that classic from our younger days - I bet you do - hey wow it's St Stephen, okay ?" It seems unbelievably self conscious and self-referential. What is a little frightening is the guy who uses this as a "conversion tape"! Before reading that, I was thinking this show would be the sort of show that confirms people's impressions that the GD were a "laid back cowboy western band for stoners". I've attended as many shows as possible between 1974 and 1989 and so attended many more shows after 1975. However, listening to this show confirms my decision to only download shows before 1976. Please NOTE: This is music, it is very subjective, and this is my opinion only - if you enjoy this show, that's a positive thing - please continue to do so. ... but please give people "One From The Vault" as a "conversion tape", not this one! :) :)

November 01, 2005
Reviewer: Gangam
Subject: Bertha

I'm a Bertha fan, and this shows Bertha opener is amazing! Aside from that, well... This show has got it all. On FIRE A few time it doesn't seem very techically great, but at those time the energy is too high to even notice.

October 25, 2005
Reviewer: f@!^yeah
Subject: Werewolves

You know, if you want a nice little sampling of one of Jerry's many fine live Werewolves of London numbers - you may enjoy the encore which was tossed up this evening several years in our past.

October 15, 2005
Reviewer: ELEVEN
Subject: nIIIICE...

RedSoxFan is DEAD on......WOW! This is insane...... Sox fan 2.....guess we'll give them a mulligan this year....

October 15, 2005
Reviewer: redsoxfansince72
Subject: Conversion Show

I don't know... I don't like titles like 'Best Show' or whatever, I prefer 'favorite' over 'best' because these things can be so subjective. That being said, this is easily in my top 5 favorite Dead shows of all time. Man are they ON! Especially in set 2, just BLAZING... I call this my conversion show. Anytime someone says 'I don't like the Dead' I play this. I tell them if this doesn't get you into them than NOTHING will. The Wharf Rat -> Franklin's -> Sugar Mag is worth the download alone! And a previous reviewer is dead on - the previous night is smokin' too... Just a fantastic show in every sense. Playing and sound quality are Fantastic. Do NOT miss out on two truly incredible shows. I would give this 10 stars if I could!

September 02, 2005
Reviewer: eyezoftheworld
Subject: you got it dude

this entire show rocks. donna sucks ass throughout, though. during sugar mag i kind of want to throw something at donna because that is when she was most audible... and i agree with the "shh"(which was pretty damn funny, BTW). all the other reviews seemed pretty damn accurate to me... esp est.>TOO>Eyes =)=)=)=) this eyes is damn DAMN damn DAMN good!!

August 29, 2005
Reviewer: Liamfinnegan
Subject: Wow Bertha

Just started listening to this for the first time...Bertha is still on and the hairs on my arms are standing up from Jerry's solo. Wow. Hope the rest of the show smokes.

August 08, 2005
Reviewer: Docter
Subject: rawr

Monster pissed. Falls into everyones top 10, depending on when they obtained it. Enjoy!

July 01, 2005
Reviewer: Geoffsky
Subject: Wharf Rat

I looked through the other reviews to see if I was the only one and I found at least one other note about this but... This is a reallly sweeet Wharf Rat.

June 26, 2005
Reviewer: capn doubledose
Subject: TOP 10 (last of hot 70's shows)

Other one>eyes is ridicoulously long and hot.... I could smell the sweat, pichouli, and freshly harvested sens when I heard this all over again. Phil gets an honorable mention on this as you can hear when Jer is ready to wind it down and he just keeps thumpin. Listen to the riff at starting at 5:30, Jerry just crushes it...Donna also gets a star, Keith - they are all in perfect harmony. In many ways this is more '77 than '78 and you can hear how psyched they are for Egypt in the fall. Last stop was Giants Stadium which has a blazing scarlet>fire... Cap Theatre is good, Shrine and Nassau 1/7/79 get close but their fate was sealed the working relationship with Donna and Keith was disintegrating. Not sure what happened over there but that was the end. Not to get philosophical but you can not hear any of those bad vibes anywhere on this - This blazing hot '77-78 at it's finest and the end of an era.

June 05, 2005
Reviewer: SAINTOFCIRCUMSTANCE
Subject: HOT

BY FAR, THE BEST SHIP OF FOOLS. JERRY SOUNDS REALLY SWEET BOTH NIGHTS. RECORDINGS GREAT.

May 27, 2005
Reviewer: coloradonative
Subject: Listen to the music play

I was lucky enough to be there for both nights. I was only 13 years old, and what a High time. Back then, they would open up the park in the morning, so you didn't have to wait until 5:00pm to get in like they do today. The weather was perfect, people were mingling around just having a good time. You could smell BBQ being cooked backstage...... The CD is good, so you can just imagine what it was like to be there. (front row/stage right/ both nights!)

May 24, 2005
Reviewer: lebowski
Subject: Upgrade? from a tape

I have had this show on tape for years now and it has always been one of my favorites. Before I found LMA I actually transfered my tape so that I could listen to it at work and elsewhere. Unbelievable performances throughout, but I am surprised that no one has mentioned that Wharf Rat is unfinished. Not that I am knocking it, I have just always thought that was interesting.

April 30, 2005
Reviewer: toughmama
Subject: AHHH-OOOOHHHH

PLAIN AND SIMPLE... THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST SHOW I'VE HEARD!!!! I agree with (BONK) CORNELL???? sure it's a good show, BUT THIS IS FABULOUS. I cannot take it out of my C.D. player. Estimated > Other One--- HOLY MOLEY.. THIS IS THE BEST OTHER-1 THE BEST WHARF RAT. EVERYTHING>>>>> TRIPLE ENCORE??? TERRAPIN.. SAT. NITE.. WHEREWOLVES.... I LOVE IT. THIS IS THE DEFINITION OF MUSIC...

April 21, 2005
Reviewer: bonk
Subject: Cornell is NOT the best

This is a pretty crazy statement....THIS IS THE BEST GD SHOW.THATS RIGHT!For all of you who love 77 and think that 77 is sacred,listen to this.For this one day in 1978,the boys were just so"ON".The X factor(7-12-90,2-14-68,8-26-72).WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!

April 12, 2005
Reviewer: lobster12
Subject: wow

all 3 nights are great, but take a look at the post space set list on this one and tell me you're not licking your chops. It's as good as it looks.This is a keeper.

March 09, 2005
Reviewer: rastaj0hn
Subject: Wha?

I listened to this for hours on end.... New Minglewood blues is excellent. The quality of the show is one of the best. Probably one of my favorites... Good Lovin' is awesomeeeee... im in awwwwwwwww

January 21, 2005
Reviewer: Aiko
Subject: an old-time favorite

I have had this show for many a year, and always enjoy listening to it. Highlites are Deal (though donna seems to get a little loud) and wherewolves. Great show give it a listen.

December 27, 2004
Reviewer: ggergm
Subject: a perfect Colorado night

Of my 100+ shows, this was the best Grateful Dead concert I saw. Enough has already been said by other reviewers about the songs and this download's wonderful sound quality, so I'll stick to details not told by the tape. It was a glorious evening with no rain and a perfect view of Denver from the top of the venue. I wandered around for this show and ended up at one point arm-in-arm with a group of strangers, singing along with them on Ship of Fools. There was a considerable break before the Terrapin encore, with the promoter (Barry Fey?) coming out to tell us to relax while the band literally caught its breath, unaccustomed as they were to the altitude. There was a shorter break before Werewolves of London, and I still swear that at least Weir came back out wearing a mask. If only such nights would come again...

December 23, 2004
Reviewer: nogo postal
Subject: Return of

Following the RR riot at a '69 Tull/Zepplin show no electric rock-n-roll was allowed at the Rocks..until this run...this run marked the return of rock-n-roll to the most special venue in the US..this sound better than what I had..save this stream..

December 16, 2004
Reviewer: darkstarpat
Subject: Great

The first solo on Estimated absolutely rips. I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but theres a glitch or a cut in the 10th minute of the Eyes thats a real buzz kill.

December 13, 2004
Reviewer: Fitz1
Subject: This Show Rocks!!!

I've looked for this show for ages. Years ago I heard a really crappy tape, but could tell the playing was inspired by the terrific surroundings. A beautiful Estimated>Other One>Eyes, but it's the Wharf Rat that really makes me smile. WOW Rockin' for sure. Without any hesitation, definitely a five-star show. Truly Awesome!!!

November 26, 2004
Reviewer: Bob the listener
Subject: <-->

Ultimate. Donna really takes it out on Deal.

November 07, 2004
Reviewer: SkeetsHoo
Subject: Red Rocks 7-08-78 Numero Uno

This is, far and away, my favorite Grateful Dead tape/CD. I first listened to this tape in the Fall of 1979 while a third year at UVa. I'm pretty sure we were on the way to a Molly Hatchet/Outlaws concert at the Cap Centre in Landover, Md. Anyway, I had sworn my allegiance to hard rock and disavowed any partiality at all for the Dead, even though the guys I hung around seemed to consist of quite a number of Dead Heads. I think we listened to the 2nd set of this concert continuously on the way home from that concert. What struck me then and still strikes me today is the enormous energy level present in the 2nd set. But let's start at the beginning. Set 1 begins innocently enough with a Bertha-> Good Lovin' romp, which is spot on. Two "cowboy songs" follow -- first Jerry enjoys a fairly rare electric Direwolf, followed by one of my favorites in this genre -- El Paso. One thing I'll say about the Direwolf is that if you listen to Donna you can kind of understand why they cut the Godchaux's (keyboard player Keith and wife, background vocalist Donna) loose from the ensemble around this time as she is pretty much off key throughout. One thing I'll say about El Paso is if you listen to Jerry's lead guitar on this one, you get a sense that he is "on" this particular evening. Two rare "roses" songs (It Must Have Been the Roses and Ramble on Rose) sandwich a New Minglewood Blues in the middle of Set 1. They end with a pretty common pair: Promised Land and Deal, but the two don't really connect, as Deal pretty much starts from scratch at the conclusion of Promised Land. Set 2 opens with Samson & Delilah and another favorite that you don't hear that much -- Ship of Fools. So far this concert hasn't really distinguished itself -- I won't say pedestrian, as the playing and singing has certainly been fine so far. And the song selection has included a few treats. But starting with Estimated Prophet, the 2nd set of this show basically takes on a life of it's own. A high energy, rock & roll romp that really defies the senses. Never again after listening to this set would I think of the Dead as anything other than a great, great, great American rock & roll band. Estimated segues into The Other One, which is not long, but rolls along with Lesh and Jerry leading the way. The transition into Eyes of the World is amazing. Jerry is on a roll. This version of Eyes is a favorite of mine. It rivals the 9/3/77 Englishtown, NJ version featured on Dick's Picks #15 in intensity as Jerry alternately transitions from chopping to floating in butterfly-like fashion during the lead jams. The folks in attendance must have certainly felt as if they were getting their money's worth at this point!! Drums and space (I have been known to omit drums/space to the horror of some taper friends of mine) is nice and compact this evening, lasting about 14 minutes. At the end of the space, Donna adds some nice background vocals to the proceedings. The space transitions into an absolutely breathtaking version of Wharf Rat. Wharf Rat is my favorite Dead song, and this is my favorite version -- hands down. It is unlike any other version of Wharf Rat that exists -- very unique. It's a rather hard rock version of this Robert Hunter-penned ballad. Jerry's "Ssshhh" in the middle of the "back on my feet someday" refrain is priceless! The transition from Wharf Rat to Frankin's Tower (the only time I know of that these two standards have been paired up?) is exciting, and the Franklin's Tower is a raging jam throughout. It was not often that the Dead pulled out Franklin's Tower AFTER drums/space. Beautiful guitar work by Jerry. It should be noted that Bob Weir lays down exquisite rhythm throughout this set as well. Sugar Magnolia is another delight. Again, very high energy. The energy peaks as they finish off with the Sunshine Daydream portion of the tune and the loud finish is appropriate for the best, hard-rocking Dead that exists -- at least in the post "retirement" (1974-75) era. Perhaps realizing that they somewhat shortened the post-drums/space portion of the show, or perhaps nor knowing what else to play after that incredible Rat -> F Tower -> Sugar Mag sequence, the group decides to do a rare Terrapin encore. Even the volume seems lower for this epic tune. The energy soon returns as the encore turns into a double encore (usually reserved for special occasions) segueing into One More Saturday Night where the entire band just basically goes off for five minutes straight. Not quite done yet, they answer a second curtain call with the then-popular Warren Zevon tune Werewolves of London. You can tell they are having a good time doing this tune. Disc 3 of this set needs to be listened with rapt attention and at maximum possible volume! Enjoy!!

November 05, 2004
Reviewer: mgags
Subject: BEST SDBD EVER RECORDED!!!!!

This show is special for many reasons. 1)The quality of this recording surpasses ANY recording I've ever heard. The second best recording I ever heard is the night before. You got to be kidding!! Jerry's voice is like wallpaper stuck to your ears .....C'MON!! If you're having a problem understanding any of the lyrics, this is your show(s). 2)The setlist is tremendous, especially set 2. The fact they squeeze Other1 in between Estimated & Eyes is amazing in itself. Then to come out of Wharf Rat into my favorite Franklin's is so sweet!.....AND the best Werewolves you'll ever hear finishes off a ridiculous Red Rocks weekend. Don't believe me....D/L any song and judge for yourself. 3. Jerry's playin is EXTREMELY inspired. I mean give a listen to his vocals on any song. Bertha...Ramble....and especially Eyes and Franklin's. He doesn't want to leave the stage, except to.......

September 19, 2004
Reviewer: stealyo'face
Subject: certified diggity dank

this show is up there for one of the best, the opening bertha>good lovin' is hot, but the estimated profit and franklins tower are what it's all about.

July 21, 2004
Reviewer: Hogg
Subject: Bertha!!!!

Yes indeed one of the best Bertha's ever..SO SWEET, also pretty funny, you can hear Jerry give Donna a "shush" during Wharf Rat when she gets a little to loud for his ears, funny indeed.

July 02, 2004
Reviewer: happytrails
Subject: Aoooooooooooooo

I used to have an audience tape of this set, and the crowd really howl with the band during werewolves of london. You can hear it through the stage mikes. A really special picture of the band and Jerry in particular. Great Dire Wolf, and his vocals all the way through. He sounds psyched.

June 20, 2004
Reviewer: metaldeadhead
Subject: JERRY ROCKS!!!

The absolute best Bertha(EVER!),Jerry rocks it with passion,the rest of the show the band is simply on.A outstanding add to any Deadheads collection,Jerry and the boys at there best.

June 15, 2004
Reviewer: *Merlin*
Subject: Raw and Nasty licks from Jerry

Rarely, if ever, will I include El Paso as a highlight but give this one a listen and you'll know what I'm talking about. It feels like you're right there along side Bobby riding alone in the dark (and riding fast thanks to Jerry's noodling). Most highlights have been pointed out in the other reviews but I had to chip in about the El Paso and give this one 5 stars to compensate for the 1 star review below which was posted before the Werewolves was added. Can't blame him for being upset, its great. Listen to Jerry's "Draw Blood" (and the tone of his guitar) and Donna's hilarious wails and you'll know why.

May 23, 2004
Reviewer: docgonzo
Subject: Great show, but track probs

Yup, great sounding show, and a hot 'Werewolves of London' to close it off. Up there with the best of '78 that I've heard, an equal if not more to the "From Egypt with love" run at Winterland to close out '78. One problem: The _vbr_.mp3 files are mistracked, you'll have to change all the filenames to the next song, and the file labelled 'discs' is the encore. Still, a small price to pay for such gold.

May 21, 2004
Reviewer: Martin M. Pedersen
Subject: Best of July 78

This is the best July 1978 I have heard. So sweet.

April 14, 2004
Reviewer: McRoberts
Subject: Werewolves??

Where is it?? Why is it not part of this seed?? :(

April 12, 2004
Reviewer: Kenneth Biminowski
Subject: My Favorite '78

This is miles ahead of most of 78. It is my personal favorite. Nice first set. The energy is high, and the band is tight. One of the better versions of "Roses". Jerry sounds like he means it. Second set starts with the best "Sampson" ever. I don't even like Sampson. But Jerry wails like his guitar is a sax, and just won't stop soloing and Phil is all over the bass. Ship of Fools is not a throwaway, Jerry commands and demands your attention. You will listen. Estimated has another long wailing solo that won't quit. Makes it feel 75 and sunny when you're frozen to your igloo. I could say great things about all of the other tunes in this show starting with "The Other One" (except fot "Terrapin", THE ONLY low point, if you could call it that). This show has Jerry in commanding top form, and the whole band is listening to eachother nonstop. Get it!!

This post was modified by Arbuthnot on 2007-10-10 02:38:20

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: He Live's Date: Oct 9, 2007 9:16pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks v. 2/3/78 Dane County Coliseum

oops....

well since i took this spot...i will highly recommend a soundboard that has disappeared from the arvhive...the AUD is here, but it is not so hot...if you can get a link to a board....

-- DIG IT -- i was just listening today, randomly and JERRY IS ON FIRE!! really spot on vocals from the whole group and a very deep, spacey 24 min playin in the band and amazing segue jams throughout the second set...CLASSIC< HOT LATE '70s DEAD >



02-03-78 Dane County Coliseum, Madison, Wi. (Fri)

1: Cold Rain, Mexicali> Big River, TLEO, L. L. Rain, Loser, Passenger, B. E. Women, El Paso, Peggy-O, Music

2: Good Lovin, Ship Of Fools, Estimated> Eyes> Playin> Wheel> Playin E: Johnny B. Goode

THE ALL TOO FAMILIAR looking estimated>eyes>playin>wheel>playin is a spirited journey indeed.......





This post was modified by He Live's on 2007-10-10 03:41:57

This post was modified by He Live's on 2007-10-10 04:16:48

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: light into ashes Date: Oct 10, 2007 4:37am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks v. 2/3/78 Dane County Coliseum

2/3/78 is easy to find since it's Dick's Picks #18, paired with 2/5/78. An incredible set. 2/5 has one of the great Scarlet>Fires (a half-hour long) and an astonishing Other One. Can't hear it enough times. There was some discussion of this set a while back....

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: He Live's Date: Oct 10, 2007 8:43am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks v. 2/3/78 Dane County Coliseum

right....

ok, i should just buy that DP....i have been listening to the AUD from 2/5 for awhile....and a portion of 2/3...i "found" on my ipod yesterday, like, "where did that come from?"...just great....

so, there was a show in between too, on 2/4...how's that?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Lou Davenport Date: Oct 10, 2007 5:27pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks ... w/LMA Reviews

While we're talking 1978 shows, I'd like once again to thank all of the forumistas who recommended 1978 shows to me back in July, when the lossless legs GD78 project was just getting under way. I've been sedulously dl'ing the shows that were recommended, and have just started listening to them. They'll be my aural food on long car drives during the upcoming holiday season. I love what I've heard so far, so thank you all for that.

If you missed the earlier discussions and are looking for good 1978 recommendations (including the 7-8 Red Rocks show of course), here is the earlier thread and my summary thereof:

http://www.archive.org/iathreads/post-view.php?id=135641

http://www.archive.org/iathreads/post-view.php?id=135796

The GD78 project is winding up, but many of the shows are still being seeded, including most or all of the epochal October Winterland engagement.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: high flow Date: Oct 9, 2007 5:53pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks

this show appears on many 10 ten all-time lists....it's that good.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Ellis Van Sofa Date: Oct 9, 2007 9:21pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks ... w/LMA Reviews

Thanks for both resurrecting the reviews and providing the link. After reading through them i am definetly going to check it out.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: GratefulObi Date: Oct 9, 2007 6:59pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks

While I might not have the torrent for this show, I do have audio cds from the whole Red Rocks run/show - 5 discs and am wiling to do B&P or just give it away, however you feel comfortable getting it. If anyone is interested - gratefulobi at yahoo dot com

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: He Live's Date: Oct 8, 2007 6:19pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks ... w/LMA Reviews

alright...i will check this on your rec....

this went down the same night:

[...]

didn't lowell george work on terrapin?

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2007-10-09 01:19:20

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: waynecs Date: Oct 10, 2007 6:11am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD 7/8/78 Red Rocks ... w/LMA Reviews

George worked on Shakedown.